10 Questions with Wheel & Frame

New York-native Steve Conzo has always had a passion for music. Back in the winter of 2016, under the name “Wheel & Frame,” he followed that passion further when he recorded his debut effort, the two-track Change, Among Other Things (CAOT), with some help from close friends.

Wheel & Frame’s first official LP, Selachimorpha, was released the following year, and the album featured eight experimental ambient rock tracks showcasing Conzo’s songwriting skills. In between CAOT and Sela, Wheel & Frame released several other tracks highlighting Conzo’s love of intelligent dance music (IDM).

Each one of Wheel & Frame’s tunes is mellow and captivating, and the group’s catalog is fit for indie rockers and IDM-ers alike.

Wheel & Frame is:
Steve Conzo – Vocals, Guitars, Keys
Devin Wojtanek – Guitars, Production
Tom Martorano – Drums
Eric Gerhardt – Keys, Vocals
Patt O’Brien – Bass
Colleen Martorano – Vocals
John Tonelli – Guitars

Steve Conzo: Hi! My name is Steve, and I write and record music under the moniker Wheel & Frame with the help of all my closest friends! I’ll be answering your questions today.

Where and when did Wheel & Frame form?
Steve: Wheel & Frame was born in New York City almost three years ago.

How would you describe your music to someone who has never heard it before?
Steve: I would describe the vibe of the music as very dreamy. I like to incorporate elements of indie rock, chillwave, drone, and R&B into my music.

You recently released the album Selachimorpha, which incorporated a couple older Wheel & Frame songs. Tell us about that record.
Steve: Yes! Selachimorpha was an EP that I released back in August of 2016. Before that, I released a small demo, called Change, Among Other Things, in February of 2016, which was the very first Wheel & Frame release. This past winter, while recording what is to be my second LP, Dev, who has produced all the Wheel & Frame releases, and I discussed combining the two releases into one and making it an LP. So we remastered the CAOT tracks and rearranged Sela’s track listing to make it flow like a record.

The singles “Aquaticism” and “Sea Salt Smell” and the two tracks that make up Sleep Cycle are very different from your other songs. What was the inspiration behind those four tracks?
Steve: I’m really glad you asked this question! I’m a big, big fan of ambient, drone, and IDM music. Artists like Grouper and Boards of Canada really inspire me. I wanted to be able to produce those vibes in my own music. At first, I did them separately, but now as time has gone on, I’ve kind of learned how to combine them. The record I’m currently tracking only touches on the beginning of this blend. I think as I release more material, you’ll hear me take it deeper and deeper.

What are some of your favorite original songs to perform live?
Steve: When I’m playing by myself, I love playing “Flashcards.” I love being able to float through that experience at my own pace. When I’m playing with the band, I love playing this new tune called “Munchausen.” The somber vibes we all produce together is what really, really drives that one.

How do you prepare yourself for a performance?
Steve: I like to keep to myself and reflect — meditate, pretty much.

Do you have any favorite cities/places to play in?
Steve: I really, really love playing in Philly. They’ve been so great to us out there. I also love playing in Boston. I went to school there, and I haven’t played there with this project yet, but I’m highly anticipating it. Overall, I’m a big fan of unconventional show spaces such as kitchens and living rooms. It’s more intimate that way.

Is there a particular song or musical passage that never fails to move you emotionally?
Steve: I love when records as a whole move me emotionally. Honesty and vulnerability are both extremely important to me in songwriting. Ruins by Grouper is just brilliant and continues to move me every time I listen to it. She’s a beautiful, vulnerable writer. Blonde does me the same way. That record is just a masterpiece. All of his material moves me, though. Frank Ocean is the GOAT.

What do you guys do when you aren’t playing shows, writing music, or jamming?
Steve: This group consists of so many diverse people who are always working on their crafts and passions, from film to electrical engineering. I’m very fortunate to be surrounded by so many creative minds. Personally, I like photography, baseball, and creative writing outside of working on music. I’m also super passionate about film. I’m always watching something.

If you could fight side-by-side with one superhero while possessing his or her same abilities, who would it be?
Steve: Spider-Man all day! This is a no-brainer. We’d be kicking major ass as I think to myself, Damn, this is a dream come true!


Like Wheel & Frame on Facebook!


 

Hero image: © Wheel & Frame
“Brighter // Darker” live video: © Wheel & Frame

~     *     ~

Leave a comment